Cheap Trick’s Bun E. Carlos to release new disc

Bun E. Carlos of Cheap Trick taps a number of friends to sing a wide range covers on his first solo album.

Greetings From Bunezuela!, which is due out June 24th, includes John Stirratt of Wilco on The Who’s “Armenia in the Sky,” Hanson on Paul Revere & The Raiders’ “Him or Me” and Dave Pirner of Soul Asylum on Bob Dylan’s “It Takes a Lot To Laugh, a Train to Cry.” The album also features Alejandro Escovedo singing two tracks — a cover of The Rolling Stones’ “Tell Me” and his own original “Slow Down.”

Bun E. says that he’d had the idea of doing a covers album for a long time, but Cheap Trick’s induction into the Rock Hall spurred him to get it done.

The first single is called, “Do Something Real,” written and sung by Guided by Voices mastermind Robert Pollard.

Click here to listen

Bun E. Carlos, Greetings from Bunezuela! Track Listing
1. “Do Something Real” — Robert Pollard (Robert Pollard solo)
2. “Him or Me” — featuring Hanson (Paul Revere and the Raiders)
3. “Armenia in the Sky” — John Stirratt (the Who)
4. “I Love You No More” — Alex Dezen (the Blackstones)
5. “Tell Me” — Alejandro Escovedo (the Rolling Stones)
6. “It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry” — Dave Pirner (Bob Dylan)
7. “Let the Mystery Be” — Xeno (Iris DeMent)
8. “Idea” — Robert Pollard (the Bee Gees)
9. “Le Cactus” — Nicholas Tremulis (Jacque DuTronc)
10. “I Can Only Give You Everything” — Rick Rizzo (Them)
11. “Slow Down” — Alejandro Escovedo (Alejandro Escovedo)
12. “Count on Me” — Xeno (Fra Lippo Lippi)
13. “I Don’t Mind” — Alex Dezen (Alex Dezen)