2015 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Nominees

The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame has announced the nominees for their Class of 2015.

There are 15 artists being considered for inclusion into the Hall of Fame and they include Green Day, Nine Inch Nails, the Smiths, Lou Reed, Joan Jett & The Blackhearts, Kraftwerk, N.W.A. and more.

Here’s the entire list of nominees: (* indicates previously nominated)

The Paul Butterfield Blues Band *
Chic *
Green Day
Joan Jett & the Blackhearts *
Kraftwerk *
The Marvelettes *
N.W.A *
Nine Inch Nails
Lou Reed *
The Smiths
The Spinners *
Stevie Ray Vaughan
War *
Bill Withers

Joel Peresman, the President and CEO of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, says, “We are pleased to present this group of nominees, as they represent the myriad places where rock and roll converges with blues, electronic, dance, Motown, R&B, funk and other genres. Rock and roll incorporates the styles of so many different kinds of music and that’s what makes this group of nominees – and this art form – so powerful and unique.”

To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination. So the 2015 nominees had to release their first recording no later than 1989. Ballots will be sent to an international voting body of more than 700 artists, historians and members of the music industry.

For the third year, fans will have the opportunity to vote starting today (Thursday), and continuing through December 9th, at RockHall.com, RollingStone.com and USAToday.com.

The inductees will be announced in December with the induction ceremony scheduled for April 18th in Cleveland.

You can vote for your favorite here. Ballots will now be sent to an international voting body of over 600 rock experts for voting on which nominees should be inducted; generally, there are five inductees per year, but occasionally that number has ballooned up to eight, depending on the votes.

Musicians become eligible for the Rock Hall 25 years after the release of their first record; for example, Green Day would become eligible in 2015, Blink-182 would become eligible in 2019.